Foundation Background

The Highline College Foundation was established in 1972 as a nonprofit corporation to receive and invest contributions that support students, educational programs and services of the college.

The Board of Directors are business and community leaders that contribute their skills, financial resources and time to help the college meet critical needs. The Foundation strives to connect with the community to meet vital needs not met through public funding.

We believe, when you attend Highline, you get more than just a course — you start on the road to your dreams becoming reality!

College Background

Highline College was founded in 1961 as the first community college in King County. It serves approximately 18,300 students and has more than 350,000 alumni.

Highline offers Associate of Arts and Science degrees that provide preparation for transfer to four-year colleges or universities, along with Associate of Applied Science (AAS) degrees and/or certificates in approximately 40 professional-technical education programs that prepare students for work. Highline also offers pre-college education, short-term training programs and community education.

Meet the Staff

Lisa Skari

Executive Director, Foundation
(206) 592-3705

Melissa Sell

Executive Assistant for
Institutional Advancement
(206) 592-3390

Alana Young

Project Coordinator
(206) 870-3774

Tatyana Andreychenko

Operations Manager
(206) 592-3392

Asha Bhaga

Director of Development
(206) 592-3868

Board of Directors

The Board of Directors governs the Highline College Foundation, making policy for the Foundation and managing its financial assets. As the Foundation's main purpose is to assist the College in its efforts to provide educational opportunities of the highest level, the Board's major activities will concentrate on obtaining support for the College from both private and corporate sectors.

Board Members

Dan Altmayer Investment Representative Edward Jones
Debra Baker Project Director R.O.Y.A.L
Sheri Keller Senior Manager, IT Business Solutions BECU
Susan Landgraf Retired Faculty Highline College
Ana-Maria Popp Attorney Cairncross & Hempelmann
Mark Rasmussen Branch Manager Red Canoe Credit Union FW
Diana Sample Branch Manager KeyBank
Mike Slater Principal McGranahan Architects
Virg Staiger Alumni Council Representative
Michelle Coffman-Whitney Director of Engineering BECU
David Youhanaie District Manager Starbucks
Junki Yoshida Honorary Member Yoshida Group

Highline Foundation Officers

President Mike Slater
Vice President, Operations Ana-Maria Popp
Secretary Debra Baker
Treasurer Mark Rasmussen
Past President Mark Rasmussen

Report to the Community

Highline College's Report to the Community is designed to keep the local community apprised of the College's and the Highline Foundation's progress and provide a summary of our latest accomplishments. The Report to the Community is published every couple of years.

The below Reports are currently available: